Youth and adults recognized for contributions to Catholic scouting

By Bernie Kilcoyne     4/8/2021

The Diocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting held its Catholic Youth Ministry Recognition Mass at St. Joachim Catholic Church earlier this year. Fr. Mike Hanifin was the celebrant, with Deacon Nick Sherg and Deacon Jorge Sanchez Ph.D. in service on the altar.  

Five youth were awarded the Light of Christ medal, designed as a steppingstone to future religious medal programs. 

Fourteen youth were awarded the Parvuli Dei medal, centered around the youth learning more about his/her faith through visits to places of interest. 

Twenty youth were awarded the Ad Altare Dei medal, a scripture study and project-centered program based on the sacraments related to youth scouting and religious life. 

Twenty-six youth were awarded the Pope Pius XII medal, a program to help the teenage youth learn more about his/her personal vocation as a Catholic now, and his/her career vocation in the future. 

Twelve youth received the Pillar of Faith pin, where these youth earned all four scouting youth ministry religious medals. 

Six youth received the St. Francis award, presented to youth in scouting providing outstanding service, volunteering their talents to serve the needs of their community and Roman Catholic Church parish. 

The Our Lady of Guadalupe award was presented to Jon Bergler, for outstanding service and leadership to the community, scouting and his church, in addition to having earned his Eagle, Summit or Quartermaster scouting award. It was also announced after the awarding of this medal that Jon was discerning entering the seminary. 

The Vic Rogers Youth Award recognizes young adults for their continual and dedicated service to the spiritual growth of scouts and was presented to Peter de Grood. 

 Six Catholic partnered scout units were recognized for the Pope Paul VI National Catholic Unit Excellence award. Pack 227 St. Bonaventure; Pack 620 St. Hedwig; Troop 671 St. Hedwig; Troop 691 St. John Neumann; Troop 818 Serra Catholic School; and Crew 1910 The Bishops Crew. 

 Adults were recognized for their contributions and dedicated service to Scouting Youth Ministry. Christopher Curry, Sophia Tran and Jacob Walker were awarded the Bronze Pelican medal. The pelican has been traditionally used as a Liturgical symbol since the early days of Christianity. It denotes the tender care of the young by the parent and the Church, recognizing Catholic spiritual development. 

Mike Bergler was awarded the St. George medal, a recognition by the National Catholic Committee on Scouting, to those who have made a significant contribution to scouting in the field of Catholic relationships. 

Gerald de Santos was awarded the Monsignor Sammon award, recognizing an adult for extended, dedicated and continuous service to youth, the Diocese and the Diocesan Catholic Committee on Scouting.